Some people think that renewable energy sources like solar and wind power should replace fossil fuels such as coal and gas as soon as possible. Others think we should continue to use fossil fuels while it is still cheap to do so.

The debate weather renewable energy sources like solar and wind power are better for the environment, as opposed to the sources like fossil fuel and gas, has become a matter of discussion for many. In my opinion, for our planet, it would be more beneficial to start using renewable energy sources. In this essay, I shall examine the both points of view and present supporting argument for my selection. To start with, there are numerous predominant factors, which suggest that the use of renewable energy sources is a better option. Firstly, the issue of environmental pollution resulting from burning coal and fossil fuel, has now become a global threat. The only possible solution to this problem is to either reduce or completely eliminate the use of the non-renewable energy sources and shift all the attention to the other alternatives. Secondly, a recently published study at the Stanford University, showed that in next 5 years, our world is expected to run out of fossil fuel. This is an alarming issue, which requires immediate actions. If we failed to make the switch to more environmentally friendly sources, this could result in serious consequences. On the other hand, there are some undeniable advantages of the non-renewable energy sources. For example, due to the easy availability, the prices of these types of sources are very less. In addition, many studies have shown that 95% of the vehicles in the world are running on gas or oil, and currently only a fraction of the vehicles are using electricity as their fuel source. A shift to using only electric vehicles could cause a collapse in the market. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in contemporary life. From the given examples, It is clear that both sides have strong supporting arguments. Nevertheless, I am still inclined to say that renewable power sources are the key to a better future.