Some people think that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable.

The difference of opinion between people arguing on whether the modern technology is making a man social or not seems to be unsettled. While technology has made the communication more easier than it was ever before, it is also making people more reliant on digital platforms for interacting with each other, thus making it difficult for people to get together with each other. In my view, the most basic form of socializing – in person interaction is pivotal to human existence, and this can be achieved only by limiting the usage of modern gadgets. Firstly, with the advancement of latest innovations in modern communication, it is much easier to talk with a person on the opposite side of the earth real-time. Furthermore, it is so easy to state our opinion online, which could reach wide and far, which was unimaginable a few decades ago. For example, I can make a video call to my mother and see her live, thus, making it easier for families to stay connected with their dear ones. The introduction of Facebook, twitter, snapchat and Instagram means that I can share an idea or a thought or an event as it happens, which can literally reach millions almost instantaneously. Thus, if it were not for the technological advancements, people might not have been able to feel more connected to each other. Similarly, if you would look from the other perspective, people are increasingly depending on the social networking platforms to reach each other. This has become so much prevalent these days, that they now prefer to chat with each other at the comfort of their homes, sipping coffee alone, chatting on platforms such as Whatsapp, Facebook, and skype over meeting their acquaintances in person. This comes with its own side effect that they lack social interactive skills. Hence, technology is driving us away from each other when it comes to socializing. To sum it up, different people might have different perception on the question if modern gadgets are bringing us closer, or moving us apart from each other, I believe that it is us, if we can have self-control on the way we use our gadgets, and keep social contacts by meeting people on a regular basis, we can keep maintain a healthy balance between our interactions online and our community that exists off the internet.