Some people think that media should not report detail of crimes to the public.

Nowadays, detailed reports of crimes could be seen on the media frequently. Some people suggest that government should take measures to ban contents regarding crime details to be shown on the media. Personally, I agree with this opinion, which I will elaborate further in this essay. While it undeniable that giving detailed information about crimes has benefits. To begin with, it could arouse the awareness of the public of self-protection. By providing details of crimes, people will be more conscious of their own safety and try to avoid being the next victim. For example, people tend to avoid going to an area if they knew robberies and stealing frequently occurred there. Furthermore, in general, the results of judgement are reported alongside with the crime details. This would be a deterrent to some prospective law-breakers. Therefore, some might give up their illegal plans considering the consequence of committing crimes. Nevertheless, reports of crime details have more drawbacks. Firstly, detailed reports of crimes have negative influences to social security. For those who intend to break the law but lack necessary knowledge and skills, they can be taught by the detailed information of crimes published on the media. Thus, they would learn how to plan and implement crimes, which would result in an increasing number of crimes. Furthermore, some criminals might get inspiration of how to escape from being caught by the police by the experiences of other offenders. For instance, a would-be offender could learn the necessity of covering his fingerprints when he saws a report of how does a criminal got caught by police because of the revealing of his fingerprints. In addition, some details of crimes are too cruel and make people feel terrified about their surroundings, some might even develop a distrust towards governments, which would impair social stability. As discussed above, governments should impose prohibition on reporting details of crimes since it bring more disadvantages than advantages.