Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money, so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree.

While some people argue that we should replace books with computers, others take the view that preserving libraries are more important. In my opinion, despite the convenience of computers in giving search results, libraries offered a different kind of experience in gaining the knowledge. On one side of the argument, there are people who hold the opinion that libraries are a waste of resources and money. The most compelling reason for this is because the same information can be obtained from a computer faster by browsing through the internet returns compared to scanning through all the books in the library, especially when there are many options of search engine nowadays such as google, yahoo or bing. Another reason is that by using computer, student can use the time to learn or do other things. For example, searching a historical reference about a site in the library will probably take few hours to just hunt the books, and collate them to a piece of useful references, whereas internet can provide in just a few seconds. Despite the above arguments, I am of the view that libraries will give a deeper appreciation to the information. Indeed, one reason why I take this position is that in many instances, the experience is what it counts. For example, by searching historical data about a site, we may end up understanding other facts related to the site from other books. Furthermore, it is my opinion that these experiences offer a deeper appreciation of how these contents were created and presented. When we visit this historic scene, we will better value the stories as well as its surroundings. For example, how and why the great wall of China was constructed. In conclusion, while both views are commonly held nowadays, I believe that library still plays an important role in giving a better experience compared to computers. Given this situation, it is recommended that we should be creative in using the given budget so that it will not be a waste.