Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree.

Information is an essential part of our world since ancient times. Everything that a generation achieves during its lifetime is passed down to the newer generations. This is how civilizations are formed, inventions are made possible, and countries are built. The most common and ancient way of passing down information and knowledge is through books and libraries, however modern day computers and their huge storage capacities have removed the importance of libraries. Libraries are the place where knowledge and information is found. It is a place of peace and silence, where people of all age groups, young or old can come together and read. Libraries provide a sense of calmness and a act as a haven for thousands of book enthusiasts. Libraries are easy to access, usually they are categorised based on various genres of books available. They also have staff to help people find a novel, magazine or a reference. Going to the library can also help cultivate a good habit, elevate your mood in addition to increasing your knowledge. While libraries are crucial, with increasing technological advancement, it is often considered as a waste of both space and resources. Computers are increasing its storage capacity, searching abilities and nowadays we also have the option to translate a given piece of reading material into native language. Computers don't require staff to maintain the books, they don't require more physical space as the amount of books increase, also it's just one click away to open a book and start reading. Using computers instead of libraries would mean reduction in deforestation as the need for papers diminishes and the data are stored on the hard drives. Computers are no doubt going to replace libraries, but can they replace the feeling of touching a freshly printed notebook? Certainly not. Going to a library, strolling across the aisles, searching for a novel and sitting across the counter reading them gives a unique sense of purpose and happiness, one that cannot be fulfilled by any digital media. Regardless of the countless benefits of using a digital screen to read and store data, libraries are still a preferred way to pick a book and enjoy the love of reading.