Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree.

In the contemporary era of technology and computers, few believe that libraries are mere the wastage of paper money and the crucial resources, whose use can be easily replaced with the computer's. On the contrary, others are of the opinion that nothing can replace the use of written textbooks and journals. Below paragraphs will shed some light on both views and reasons of their assertion. One side is of the favour that libraries are the one of the multi-bagger investment and nothing can replace their role. This school of thought believes in this because of the various reasons. Mainly, computers are in this world for more than three decades and even with the help of these supercomputers, space travel becomes reality, but still more and more libraries are getting introduced in the system. Secondly, authenticity of the information is also a major contributor in the existence of libraries. For instance, on the internet, there are numerous hoax websites which cannot be trusted for news and people cross verify the information in the newspapers and magazines as the publication are bound to print the authentic material and spending resources for the trusted information will always be better. Others believe that in the fast paced lives, no one has time to travel to the libraries to satiate their thirst of knowledge which can be easily fulfilled at home with the access to the internet. Furthermore, computers are replacing man power in the factories, industries and even teachers in many universities have been replaced with the recorded online courses and smart labs. In the same manner, libraries will be obsolete in the future and investing valuable resources in the thing of no longer use is also a wastage. Both groups have their own thought and assumptions which make them believe that computers should replace the libraries and others believe that libraries cannot be replaced with today's new inventions. In my opinion, usage of libraries for reading hard books and to feel the touch of the paper cannot be replaced with the electronic books, though libraries will be of lesser use in future due to increasing options. Moreover, both the things should go hand in hand as the incorporation of computers in the library will serve the purpose.