Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

It has recently been observed that people have different methods of spending their leisure time. While some stress the significance of performing hobbies that exercising the brain, others prefer to rest their mind during their spare time. This essay will both opinions, as well as state why the two ideas are mutually inclusive. A significant section of people wants the choice of the hobby during pleasure, to enhance the strength of the consciousness. As a matter of fact, regular and appropriate brain exercises positively improve our cognitive ability of the practitioner. For example, the Harvard medical school journal asserted that, mind exercises like reading and board games enhance the memory region of the brain by improving its blood supply. In addition, Alzhiemer disease patients also get better after adopting this activities, consequently experiencing a decline in the severity major symptoms which is memory loss However, some consider the above school of thought as fallacious, while subscribing to relaxing neurological activities like meditation and yoga. In fact, proponents of this idea tout the health impact, along with the psychological benefits of performing mind resting activities as the reason for their preference. For instance, a lot of research points to the effectiveness of meditation in treating cerebral congestion, headaches as well as improving manic symptoms among psychiatric patients suffering from less severe form of schizophrenia. To conclude the essay, this essay was able to elucidate the fact that brain exercise and mind relaxing activities are beneficial to the practitioners. After thorough analysis of this matter, I think each idea should be combined to get the most positive effect on the mind and body.