Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

There is always a moot debate on, whether doing nothing during spare time is the best option to relax the brain or whether performing the passive activities is the optimal utilisation of the same.  In my opinion, the rejuvenation of the imagination completely relies on the type of work we usually do in our everyday life. On the one hand, as per the argument of some masses, it is essential to not think about anything, and give our mind some rest. When we keep ourselves away from active thinking, it enhances our imaginations to engage with the surroundings without the burden to analyse every situation we observe and encounter. For instance, an IT professional, who always remains occupied in front of the computer screen, need to stop thinking to recharge his brain and to proffer a required break to eyes, by either cherishing the nature or by any other activities where there is no need to put strain on the brain. On the other hand, the supporters of the other argument claim that no matter how much stress we face in daily life, it may just slip away when we lose ourselves in a great story of a novel or concentrate on solving the word puzzles. Reading helps to distract us from the anxiety we face and keeps us in the present moment. In addition to this, these activities foster cognitive stimulation. Studies have shown that staying mentally active through activities, such as reading and doing word puzzles, preclude (abstain) us from losing intellect power. In conclusion, I believe, as per the jobs being performed by the people at their workplaces strongly influence the choice of leisure activities. A mentally-tired person needs to give the required peace to his/her brain and confines oneself to be indulged in any activity, which requires any efforts, even though meagre.