Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcastforeign films and TV shows. Others, however, think it is best to producelocal films and shows.

In recent decades, movies and TV series have been imported at an increasing rate, causing some public controversy. Although, some traditionalists believe that this development comes at the expense of a country’s culture, plenty of evidence suggests that the opposite is true There are a number of reasons why local films and shows benefit a culture. First, motion pictures are an effective way to crystallize and project the intangible element of a culture. Therefore, if local films and shows are the primary focus, viewers would find it easier to assimilate the beliefs, values and assumptions of a culture, which can be difficult to achieve by using written form. Second, producing more local films will enrich the cultural library. For example, since local programs are abundant in India, the Indian culture appears more vivid and unique than other cultures with fewer local films produced. On the other hand, imported movies and TV series bring a lot of advantages to a local culture. First, thanks to foreign programs, local ones become more distinguishable and thus appreciable, especially in the eyes of local residents. In fact, if one never watched other countries’ programs, he or she would be susceptible to taking his or her culture for granted. Second, by getting new ideas from overseas, a local culture will obtain the opportunity to fix its existing flaws and therefore get perfected. For intance, the South Korean culture has fewer flaws than North Korean one because it is more open to new ideas in the form of foreign films. In conclusion, only focusing on producing local films and shows will do more harm than good. Local officials should also recognize the benefits of purchasing foreign movies on preserving their culture.