Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcast foreign films and TV show. Others, however think it is best to produce local films and shows.

In recent decades, some foreign films and TV series are having substantial impacts on the local culture in a discernible way, rasing a question of ethnic codes. Although the proposal of importing more external films sould reasonable, I think the production of local ones would pay dividends. On the one hand, There are a great number of reasons why the production local films and shows should be encouraged. First, Local films is proved to be an effective tool to impart the moral codes and traditional precepts on children. This means that they could distinguish what is right or wrong in their social norms, which remarkably preclude them from crime commission. Second, a constant exposure to the beauties of national cultural values and historical sites through some television series would be conducive to a higher degree of appreciation and awareness of maintenance in citizens. For example, many Vietnamese beauty spots are now being restored and well-preserved by the local citizens thanks to such national films and movie series about the natural beauty of Vietnam. On the one hand, imported movies and TV series also bring several advantages to a local culture. First, By perceiving some lifestyles from overseas, a local government will detect the imperfections in their existing laws and therefore get amended to improve the living standards. For instance, Vietnamese citizens could freely interact with the international communities and voice their opinions about politics without the governmental censorship because Vietnam is open to new ideas of foreign films. In addition, An increase in foreign entertaining materials could associated with a higher level of interaction with outside cultures. This means that people would be less sensitive to the risk of culture shock when migrating or traveling abroad, which would make the assimilation into the new society easier. In conclusion, focusing on foreign films and shows would do more harm than good. The local government should recognise the benefits of producing local materials to facilitate the diversity of national cultures.