Some people think that it is a good idea to have a detailed plan for activities to do in their free time. Others disagree with this.

The modern society is generating an increasing amount of waste and the waste management has become one of the pressing issues both in developing and developed countries. With the inevitable rise in population and industrialisation, this problem will be further aggravated. The government can help decrease waste production by educating the public and by promoting recycling. The global population has reached a staggering seven billion recently. Solid waste is a by-product of this phenomenon. This number is expected to balloon to nine billion by 2050 if the current trend goes on. The amount of trash produced is likewise expected to rise. Manufacturing industries also contribute to the total of accumulated waste. While market demands go higher, the number of factories built also increases to satisfy this demand. This unsavoury problem has taken centre stage as the world focused on tackling global warming. One way that the government can help alleviate this burden on the environment is by educating the culprits – the general public. By promoting the use of reusable bags when shopping, the amount of plastic bags can be greatly reduced. Furthermore, the government can also run advertisements and put up posters in ways that a household can reduce the trash it generates. Another step that the government may undertake is through sound recycling. It must invest in a technology that can be managed through the municipal level. To encourage its citizens to adhere to this program, collection areas for recyclable materials must be accessible. Sweden has set these areas within 300 meters from residential areas and so far they are succeeding. To conclude, it is a fact that the human population will continue to rise. In order for the world’s natural resources remain sustainable, the government and the public must cooperate to find a solution to this ever-present problem.