Some people prefer to plan activities for their free time very carefully. Others choose not to make any plans at all for their free time. Compare the benefits of planning free-time activities with the benefits of not making plans. Which do you prefer —

Nowadays there is a great debate about school subjects. On one hand, some people advocate that History is the most important subject. On the other hand, others argue that Science and Technology are the crucial learning tools for the XXI century. There are strong arguments for both sides and sometimes even who are specialist cannot reach a definite conclusion. Firstly, it is necessary to emphasise that History is vitally important in order to avert the same mistakes of the past. Had we not studied History, we would have been in a worse situation. For example, the genocide in Rwanda was a dreadful crime against humanity, but the memory of it helped to forestall similar massive killings. Furthermore, having a knowledge of History can contribute to equality in society. Understanding the period of slavery is of the utmost importance of the rights of black people. However, Science and Technology also have their relevance. Advance in Technology made it possible that we could have a more comfortable life. A major part of our hard work is done by machines. In addition to this, a society which has developed a Science at higher levels is more likely to boost economic growth. If a country produces more sophisticated products, it will definitely be richer. Therefore, Science and Technology can also benefit the whole society. In my humble opinion, I believe that History is more important than Science and Technology because it can solve problems that are not only material issues. For instance, a war can be caused by pride and fear, not only by money. Consequently, only History allows us to understand this human aspect.