According to some people, we have become more independent in the modern world while others oppose this view and say that we have become more dependent on each other.

The success of a society depends on how well its members are connected and befit each other. Human has developed modern sophisticated social forms by making sure that each member adds values to the society and hence remains important to the society. Some say that this dependency is reducing day by day, while others argue that we are becoming more intermingled with each other at a far broader level and hence one can not survive without the help of others. This essay will discuss both views before coming to a reasoned conclusion. One the one hand, protagonists say that the trend of reducing dependency can be easily seen in the way older generations have been living in recent times. Nowadays, people in 80s are living alone without support from their family members. Even the family size is becoming smaller day by day. Combines family, where uncles and aunts used to live together, is no more in fashion. Therefore, it is argued that people prefer independence these days. However, on the other hand, some people say that while the obvious view of 'dependency' is less visible nowadays but in reality people have become much more dependent on others. For example, one can not figure out that from which farm a packet of milk has come from or which farmer has produced the fruit. So one might not be able to establish a clear link of his dependency on someone who is producing stuff for them, Therefore it can be seen that though dependency is not visible clearly we still need others to survive in today's world. With above view in mind, I am more inclined to believe the interdependency is society has increased with time. However, it may not be as visible as it used to be in old times. The only thing which has changed is that the past is -  in the past, we knew who can help us but now we know where to go if we need a certain type of help.