Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists.

A generation ago people are lining-up to their nearest audio store to buy the latest album of their favourite artist. Nowadays, illegal downloading of songs or albums from the internet has become a trend. Although some people believe that these activities won’t affect the artist, I think that it will impact the music industry negatively. On the other hand, it still a discussion that artist will not be financially affected by illegal downloads. Some people believe that they have multiple source of income. For instance, they have these concert tours, television guesting and endorsements. Therefore, as long as people continue listening to them either legal or illegal means, they still be famous and able to earn their living somewhere else. On the other hand, I believe that this will significantly affect the music sector as a whole. In my opinion, a lot of production studios may not be sustainable if consumers do not pay for their products. Recordings incur high production costs because it involves many professionals such as singers and composers. If they do not have enough compensation due to illegal downloading, they will not be able to survive in this competitive market in the long term. I also think that this will discourage them to spend hours on creating good music for their audience. They may feel that their songs are not appreciated and therefore, de-motivated to continue composing wonderful songs and quit their jobs. In conclusion, although many artists do not rely only on one source of income, I still believe that downloading online without paying for it will cause the whole industry to slow down and production studios will not survive in the future.