Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in country’s police force and military force, such as the army, while other think women are not suitable for this kind of work.

There are a lot of discussions around topics that highlight the role of women in our society. With the rise of feminism and emancipation, despite quite an obvious question about the woman’s role in a family, the question about a woman in military forces has also become vital. I stick to the opinion that women should be given a right (or an obligation) to serve their country; however, the essay discusses both views. On the one hand, there are reasons to think that women do not belong to the hostile masculine environment which army is. Many people claim that women are much weaker both psychologically and physically than men. Therefore, the right to serve a country will become not a favour, but a burden. Moreover, in order to carry such a burden a woman need to put the arduous endeavour during her experience in the army and this effort could not be compared to efforts men put. For instance, female soldiers will be demanded to do more exercises in order to get an equal opportunity to take part in military operations. Hence, the urge to equality will only make a gap between men and women deeper and will make the whole situation worse. On the other hand, there are no evidences that women are psychologically and physically weaker because of the natural reasons, but not because society tells them to be weaker. For example, we do not know now whether women continue to be much weaker than men as they are now, if society stops to teach girls that they are created for being wives and mothers. What is more, while society says women are weak and unsuitable for the army, at the same time it gets blind when it comes to those men who are not physically developed enough for military force. Summing up, women should be allowed to serve in armies as far as there are no natural reasons not to let them do so. All the considered modern reasons against women in armies are made by society itself and could be eliminated in future by shifting the perception of women.