Some people think that hobbies should be linked with technology, while others believe that it is not necessary for hobbies to be involved with technology.

Technology has an unprecedented presence in people’s daily life. This essay thus first aims to investigate wherein some people believe relating hobbies and technology is essential; thereafter, it examines why others think the contrariwise, followed by my opinion regarding this matter. One reason that some millennials believe necessitates a linkage between hobbies and technology can be illustrated as the latter’s practicality. These days, almost everything is done by using computers and gadgets and thereby if the masses use them more often, especially during their leisure time as a hobby, their tech knowledge will be elevated, allowing them to increase their computer proficiency, which in turn helps them to accomplish day-to-day tasks faster and more conveniently. Statistics within a study done by the Yale University in 2017, for example, showed that 88 percent of people who frequently use their computer or smartphone for entertainment is able to finish tasks much faster than others. However, another notion begs the differ. Another angle on this debate suggests hobbies should not necessarily involve technology because there are other important skills that are vital to life. People need skills such as social competency that cannot be gained through technology and therefore they should invest their time to interact with others via face-to-face conversation whereby they can develop their inter-personal abilities. A psychology article by John Abbey, an accomplished psychologist, for instance, showed that an overwhelming majority of individuals who spend most of their free time around technological gadgets find it difficult to befriend with their colleagues. This demonstrates that investing too much time on modern gadgets endangers people’s social life. All in all, even though using technology on a regular basis is helpful to increase one’s computer literacy, I tend to agree with those who think there are other vital skills in life that cannot be acquired through this method and thus hobbies should not only revolve around technology.