Some people think that having a set retirement age (e. g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workes deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

The age of retirement has become a hot topic in recent times. Some people believe that the retirement age should be based on occupation and that it is not fair to have the same retirement age for all workers. This essay looks at both sides of the issue and puts forth the argument that the retirement age should be based on occupation. A fixed retirement age certainly offers benefits. It is easier for the goverment to manage its fiscal policy as it can accurately predict the number of people who will receive pension every year. Pension is an expense for the government and must be budgeted for. Further, when everyone starts receiving pension at the same age, there is a sense of justice in the system because one group can not claim to have been treated unfairly. However, is this system really fair? Few years ago, there was uproar in the industrial worker community when a 60 year old worker died when a fire broke out in a manufacturing plant, and the old worker could not evacuate quickly. People believe that workers employed in dangerous ocupations, such as mining, oil exploration, must be allowed to finish their careers early. Making them work after the age of 60 is not right and even immoral. They contend that these workers have put their lives at risks throughout their career and en early retirement is a reward well deserved. I believe that an early retirement must be set for certain occupations. However, this age must be fixed across all such occupations e. g. 60 years. It will not only allow these workers to stay safe and reap the rewards of years of risky work, it would also allow the government to create a sustainable fiscal policy. The age of retirement has become a hot topic in recent times. Some people believe that the retirement age should be based on occupation and that it is not fair to have the same retirement age for all workers. This essay looks at both sides of the issue and puts forth the argument that the retirement age should be based on occupation.