Some people think that government spending on the restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development.

Some people would argue that the government should discontinue to fund the restoration of old buildings in their cities and re-allocate the budget for housing and road development. I disagree with this statement because there is a strong correlation between the two. This essay will first discuss how the government can earn more money from the restoration and then talk about the necessity of the development of housing and road. On the one hand, restoration of old buildings in cities is essential to preserve the cultural heritage from the past generation. These building store valuable information about the city, which is important for the younger generation to learn. Furthermore, revitalizing them can potentially result in additional incomes for the city administration from tourism. For example, the Amsterdam Central Station restoration was completed in 2009 and, as a result, the city has made it, not only functions as a rail station better, but is also attractive to tourists. In my opinion, restoring old buildings is worth investment. On the other hand, expanding roads and constructing more houses are needed to solve overcrowding and traffic jams issues. The government needs a huge amount of money and it would not be sufficient if it depends on taxes. As a solution, additional income is needed and one of potential source is tourism. For example, the government of Jakarta has completed the city ring roads because of additional funds obtained from tourism. In my opinion, there is a mutual relationship between preserving old buildings and expanding the city's infrastructures. In conclusion, the government should continue paying for the restoration of old buildings in cities beside housing and road development. In my opinion, both are important and there is a connection between them.