Governments should spend their money on railways rather than roads. with this statement?

In this present World, investments in railways and roads are constantly on the rise. However, there is still an ongoing debate on whether governments should spend their budget on railways or roads. In my opinion, it would be much more efficient for governments to invest in railways. Because, supporting railway transportation could help governments to reduce traffic and carbon dioxide emissions, which caused mainly by the increasing number of car usage. First of all, investing in railways is one of the best solutions to reduce traffic, which is a common problem nowadays. For instance, it is widely known that an increasing number of cars on the road is the main reason of traffic. An advanced railway system will encourage people to use trains rather than their own individual cars. Therefore, governments will see a decrease in the number of cars on the road in the short-run which will inevitably contribute to reduce traffic. Secondly, carbon dioxide emission would be decreased if governments invest their capital in railway transportation. For example, it is agreed that CO2 discharge is mainly caused by an increasing amount of car usage. Governments can prevent this problem caused by cars by just investing in railway transportation and encouraging people to use trains. Thus, it would be much more efficient for governments to spend their money on railways since it contributes not only to reduce traffic but also to reduce CO2 emission. To sum up, in case of choosing whether to spend money on railways or roads, it would be a better idea to choose railways for governments since it helps governments to solve the traffic problem and reduce carbon dioxide emission caused mainly by cars. Therefore, I believe that governments should spend their money on railways rather than roads.