Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible. While others think that it should not start until 7 years of age.

Around the world, starting formal education for the children and the appropriate age for it is a widely debated topic. Opinions vary on whether to start formal education for children at the earliest or delay it until the age of 7 years. This essay will analyse both arguments with relevant examples and an opinion would be formed at the end. Firstly, some people think that children are sharp and active learners. So, formal education should be started as soon as possible. It is argued that, despite the initial difficulty, children grasp basic subjects and their concepts efficiently at a young age that could prove pivotal to their future success. For instance, in my country, there is a school in which children are introduced to formal academia at the age of 4-5 years. Interestingly, the school records have shown excellent results with their students being top performers in board exams in comparison to other schools. Therefore, it can be said that starting formal education as earlier as possible could furnish impressive results. On the other hand, some people believe that proper academic courses should not be started for children until they are seven as it will hinder their other potential talents. For example, In America, students are not taught formal course until they turn eight. It is done in order to polish their all-round learning and potential talent. From the analysis of American education system, it seems to be quite a productive approach as they have produced numerous scientists, athletes sportsmen, entrepreneurs and other professionals. Hence, it is evident that formal education after 7 has delivered excellent results. From the above discussion, it can be concluded that formal education after seven years of age is more beneficial as it has produced far better results in comparison to a start prior to that. It is, therefore, hoped that in order to nourish and realize different talents of children in different fields, parents will commence their formal education after age seven.