Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible. While others think that it should not start until 7 years of age.

In many countries, it is recommended that children should start school education from the age of four. However, in some other parts of the world, formal education starts when a child reaches seven or eight years of age. In my opinion, starting school early is better for the overall development of the child. While it is true that children who start school at age seven or eight get to spend more time with their parents, this practice does not always benefit their overall development. The first five years in the life of a child are the most crucial for his brain development. At home the child will be in the care of his parents or grandparents and they may not always be in a position to impart knowledge to him. While many parents do not have the skills or knowledge required to satisfy the curiosity of a toddler, those who can actually do so are usually busy at work. As a result, the child does not gain much from the time spent at home or in a day care centre. By contrast, there are many benefits to starting school early. During early years, children tend to have outstanding learning capabilities. They can learn from both parents and teachers because their minds are highly impressionable and they can learn at a faster pace. Parents can help the learning process by providing children with a nurturing environment at home and teachers can teach them formal subjects such as mathematics, science and language. Better still, the school is a microcosm of the world. Here the children get to interact with their peers, elders and teachers and this knowledge will help them to grow into well-disciplined, good mannered adults. For instance, a recent research in London showed that children who started formal education at an early age had better cognitive abilities and outperformed their counterparts even in adolescence. To conclude, the concept of starting formal education late is preposterous. Starting school education in early years is highly beneficial for a child because it boosts his personal as well as intellectual growth.