In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Increasing advancement in technology and development in economy have equipped people throughout the world with their own vehicles. This essay intends to discuss the merits and demerits of this particular trend. On the positive side, there are variety of advantages of easy access to vehicles for individuals. First of all, it is time saving and convenient mode of commuting. In other words, one needs not to waste time in waiting for the buses or trains, and furthermore, it is more comfortable than travelling by other means of travel. For instance, if a person has to attend a business meeting, he can reach on the scheduled time as per his convenience. Secondly, anybody can organise his/her itinerary according to the circumstances, and it provide more opportunities of enjoyment to an individual. For example, travelling with family is always fun. Thus, no one deny the pros of having personal automobile. On the down side, it has its disadvantages as well. Firstly, excessive motors on the roads will increase traffic jams and gridlocks would become extremely common. Consequently, it enhances the possibility of numerous health related issues, such as asthma and bronchitis, especially among older ones and children. A particular good example of this, is the capital city of India, Delhi, where congestion on roads have adversely effected the health of the masses. Also, enormous motor cars would definitely lead to environmental problems such as pollution, and fossil fuels would be exploited in sufficient amount. It is well known that these are exhaustible sources of energy, and if ones get depleted cannot be renewed again. this way, traffic and exploitation of resources are major cons of having automotives. To conclude, despite having certain advantages associated with private cars, its disadvantages can not be neglected at any cost. Hence it is the need of the hour to use these means of travel in an organised manner so as not to harm the surroundings and other living creatures.