Some people think that fittest and strongest individual and team can achieve success in sports, while others believe that success depends on mental attitude.

Yesterday’s fiction is today’s reality. Such colossal developments have taken place in agriculture, which we couldn’t even think of earlier. It is a highly debatable issue as to whether these improvements in fertilisers and technology are a blessing or a curse. Some people believe that turning to GM crops will increase the food grain production. In this essay, I intend to delve into the advantages and disadvantages of this approach. To begin with, the machinery has saved people from tedious work and in the meantime increased the manufacturing markedly. All this is needed to meet the demands of the burgeoning production. Furthermore, genetic modification of food has given us such species which need little or no insecticides and no fertilizers. The quality of food has also improved. For example, a nut protein has been added to soya bean to increase the protein content. We have more choices, even colour and shape can also be changed. We have sweeter fruits and square watermelons are some examples. Secondly, disease- and drought-resistant plants that require fewer environmental resources (such as water and fertilizer). Thirdly, even though the seed is more expensive, these GM crops lower the costs of construction by reducing inputs of machinery, fuel, and chemical pesticides. In addition, due to more effective pest control, crop yields are often higher. On the downside, such automation has reduced the need for manpower and many people are now jobless. This, genetic modification, is considered as unnatural and as it is relatively new, people are also concerned about its long-term harmful side effects. It is biologically altered. Hence, biotech foods may pose a human health risk. Some methods are also dangerous to the environment as there is contamination of the neighbouring crops due to the altered gene pool. Nevertheless, the excessive production of genetically modified foods will be rendered ineffective over time because the pests that these toxins used to deter might eventually develop resistance towards them. To conclude, as every garden has weeds, such developments have their pros and cons. But the use of GMOs can only benefit to humans when it is used for increasing the availability, quality of meal, medical care, and contributing to a cleaner environment, otherwise no use of modified crops. We should know where to draw the line and take maximum advantage of this technology minimising its harmful effects.