Some people think that fittest and strongest individual and team can achieve success in sports, while others believe that success depends on mental attitude.

People have different views about the factors leading to the triumph in the field of sports. While some argue that athletes and sports teams with the highest level of physical fitness could win competitions, I believe psychological factors are more significant. On the one hand, I understand the reason why it can be argued that physical factors play a pivotal role in sporting success. Perhaps the major argument is that competitions’ outcomes are largely determined by physical fitness, particularly muscular strength and endurance. For example, a weightlifter has to be physically fit enough to lift weights, and it is clear that the stronger he is, the heavier weight he can lift. Another example is that in marathon running, athletes have to consistently run in many hours, and long legs with powerful muscles are necessary so that they can make up a successful athletic performance. Furthermore, sports teams having well-built members could get a competitive edge over other teams and are more likely to succeed in competitions. On the other hand, I am of opinion that mental factors are far more important than physical ones. Firstly, in professional competitions such as Olympic Games or World Cup, it seems that all competitors are talented and well-trained, and mental toughness would significantly affect the overall result. An athlete with the best physical abilities sometimes could make mistakes, and without willpower and perseverance, he would probably become nervous and consequently give up. Secondly, even a team with strongest members, if there were not solidarity and cooperation, could potentially fail the competition. This is particularly the case in soccer where a player could keep the ball and try to score for his own sake instead of passing the ball to other players who have better scoring opportunities. In conclusion, although I acknowledge that good physical conditions could bring advantages to both individuals and teams, I would contend that mental factors such as determination and persistence play a more vital role in sporting success.