Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale with others believe it is better to deal with them nationally

It is true that some people argue that the unique reason to study a foreign language is to travel to or work abroad. However, others believe that there are more reasons why people choose to learn a different language. This essay will provide both of these views before giving my opinion. Learning a foreign language is getting more important nowadays. With a continual progress of the phenomenon of the globalization, people have no choice to become a bilingual in order to get a job or have more communication abroad. First of all, many countries have accepted the idea that the international language is English, and some institute, such as universities and major companies, require a certificate of English language skills. Forcing people to learn this language sometimes without their approval. Secondly, with a trend of people to travel in other countries more often than in the past, English seems like necessary to travel in these countries where English is not spoken. For example, with a basic English language skills, every tourist could go abroad without any difficulties, making the distances of the cultures and languages much closer and creating a good relationship between tourists and local people. On the other hand, learning could be considered as a hobby for those people who want to create a contact with other countries citizens. Firstly, English could be a means of communication for those whose another language to increase their knowledge where this is not available in their country. For instance, with the widespread of the internet, all the information became available in certain websites, where are commonly in English. Thus, people from those places where there is a censorship, such as China, might have more information available regard abroad instead of having only their national news. Furthermore, through studying a language, people could understand its historical background and culture from language usage or idioms. In conclusion, Studying a foreign language has multiple reasons behind its learning. As far as I am concerned, knowing another language is not only for the jobs or travels, but for something we want to achieve for ourselves.