Some people say economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stop immediately to stop damaging the environment.

Economic growth has been a major priority in many parts of the world because some people believe that economic growth is the most effective way to address starvation and poverty while others claim that it would have negative impacts on the environment and should not be continued. On the one hand, solid economic progress is crucial for tackling hunger and poverty. First, a highly developed economy means have considerable investment in agricultural sector. Successful businesses would join hands with government to support modernization and innovation of farming method and techniques. This would help enhance productivity and food security would be assured as a result. Meanwhile, economic prosperity also contribute to significantly reducing the unemployment rate. In other words, the total national outcomes increase, the enterprises would need to expand their operation, thus, creating more job opportunities and decreasing the poverty rate. On the other hand, defining sustainable economy arise from a nation’s friendly- environmental economic progress. Industrialization coupled with economic development has resulted in ever-increasing environmental pollution. Factories pollute the air by releasing gas emissions to the atmosphere on a daily basis, sewage is being discharged into the rivers without adequate pre-treatment. Is businesses show concern in environmental friendly technology, and make optimal use of resources in order to minimize environmentally detrimental effects. In conclusion, the above analysis point out the fact that economic development should be put on top priority in fighting poverty and food shortage and environmental drawbacks can possible be overcome.