Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned while others think people should be free to choose from.

The debate about whether to ban dangerous sports is always controversial. Some claimed that dangerous sports should be banned while others believe, to choose any sort of sport, people should have liberty. This essay will examine both views, but personally, I strongly advocate that people should be able to opt for sports of their choice rather than choosing some particular sports, yet precautions should be taken account. On the one hand, some support the view to ban dangerous sports like swimming, bullfighting, scuba diving, polo, racing and mountaineering. This is because people may become disabled by the occurrence of any detrimental incident. For example, in 2015, a group of friends set a mountaineering competition in the mountain range of Himalayas. The unfortunate event occurred, one of the person slipped from the mountain; broke his leg, now he is on a wheelchair. Furthermore, at worse, participating in a dangerous sport could cost a precious life. On the other hand, some people believe that one should be liberal to play the sport of one’s choice. This is because one could overcome one’s fear. To illustrate, a person having height phobia could abolish this phobia by mountaineering, sky diving or paragliding. Likewise, one could eliminate the phobia of water by doing swimming. Moreover, a survey conducted at Oxford University, states that extreme sports can develop extraordinary decisive skills in an individual. This survey was conducted on a sampled managerial workforce and astonished results were recorded as the subjected workforce showed effective decisive skills at their work. To conclude, I believe it should always be an individual’s choice to pick a sport to play rather than banning extreme sports. Furthermore, precautionary measures should be practised while enjoying dangerous sports.