Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, but others think the people should have freedom to choose sports activities.

It is often seen on the news that young people get injured or even killed while playing extreme sports, such as, freshwater cave diving, bungee jumping, skydiving, etc. As a result, citizens are proposing to bar these sports, but the opinion from the opposite side is heard as well, arguing that it is more of a personal decision. From my perspective, I am in favour of implementing prohibitions on these sports. People who support the operation of these dangerous activities state that the government should not interfere with the issue as long as people are willing to pay for these sports and, at the same time, the operation is profitable. It is purely a decision between the two parties. However, I personally find this saying narrow, as players’ families and the local authority are inevitably involved. Youngsters are driven by the adrenaline rush to decide to play these games in most cases without full awareness of the potential risks, which may lead to disability and fatality. Their families are bound to emotionally suffer from the loss of loved ones. Moreover, the city would have to shoulder a much heavier financial burden on public health if the number of participants of unsafe sports were to grow. Therefore, it is no longer a simple trade between two parties. As a matter of fact, all local tax payers shall have a say. To wrap up, risky sports activities should not be allowed without the consent of the participants’ family members, the local government and taxpayers.