Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. with the statement?

In this present-day world of technological advancement and globalization, travelling long distances away from home for work or for studies have become a norm, which results in an extensive use of either roads or railways. Therfore, the government has to spend money on developing as well as sustaining these means of commute, but the question remains, whether the government should direct more money towards railways or roads. In my honest opinion, both railways and roads have their own pros and cons and I believe that the government should invariably spend equal proportions of money for both. On one hand, we have railways that is undoubtedly a cheap and ecofriendly means of communication that makes sure the passengers reach their destination without fail throughhout the year in any weather condition. However, trains are not usually safe if one is not very vigiliant of his surrounding as picpocketing in a crowded train is not unheard of. Also, not all trains run on schedule and on that context, some trains are usually late which can cause severe incoviniences for students and workers who are supposed to reach their workplace on time. For instance, the central railways carry thousands of people everyday back and forth from CST to Karjat since early in the morninvg till late at night, but only a few of these trains are on time and some of these trains are often more than twenty minutes late. Thus, it makes sense for govenment to direct a decent amout of money towards railways to increase the frequency of trains and build more tracks, which can result in a profficient crowd control and time management, making travelling more convinient as well as safe for the passengers. On the other hand, private vehicles and cabs have an upper hand when it comes to convinience and comfort of travelling. Nevertheless, over-crowding of vehicles on roads can lead to increased release of fumes and gasses that result in pollution and global-warming, which in unision with broken roads, provides a bumpy ride to the traveller. For example, the roads in Bombay are not only heavily cowded and the traffic jam may end up requiring upto half an hour to clear up, but also have serious pothole issues which can damage the vehicle and result in a rough ride. Therfore, it makes sense for government to spend a similiar amout of money in repairing and maintaining roads as well as to construct more roadways and bridges with a broad corridor to efficiently manage the traffic and consequently, pollution. Taken together, I would like to conclude by saying that the government should carefully think and plan out a developement and sustainable upgrade for both railways and roads to avoid the overwhelming consequences of untreated and unmanaged conditions, while savouring the fruits of either means of communication