Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games and give your own opinion.

Over the recent decades, video games have been emerged as an appealing entertainment, absorbing more and more people from all age groups, from children to adults. However, issues associated with their positive and negative impacts are still vague, requiring an in-depth scrutiny to be revealed. Some people assert that playing such games brings nothing except physical and social problems, while proponents believe that video games are effective and educational. I, for one, opine that the disadvantages far outweigh the merits. Playing video games promotes an inappropriate lifestyle, leading to the deterioration of both physical and social abilities. There is ample evidence approving that if people dedicate unlimited amount of time to game, some undesirable health-related repercussions are inevitable. Playing video games has caused people to suffer from a sedentary lifestyle due to the fact that the attractiveness of such games makes people lose the track of time. As long as players are physically inactive, some certain diseases like obesity, high blood pressure, and heart troubles will be developed. Furthermore, those who are interested in video games may encounter social difficulties. Playing video games can create addiction, especially for adolescents, since such games motivate youngsters to pursue higher scores and rewards. In the event that the players cannot control the playing time, it will keep them away from taking part in social gatherings and events. Consequently, not only do they become socially isolated but also they are unable to cultivate valuable skills such as making friends and interacting with peers. On the contrary, advocators claim that there are potential advantages of playing video games including personal developments and therapeutic purposes. These games are designed scientifically in the hope that they can foster individuals’ advancements like problem-solving capabilities. For instance, some games provide players with the situations that overcoming them requires a high brain speed for making a wise decision. Indeed, the gamers gradually learn how to employ and promote their intelligence as well as analytical thinking ability to solve the challenges. Moreover, although it may be presumed that games are stressful or even psychologically harmful, it has been widely demonstrated in academic studies that playing games makes people able to alleviate stress and tension they may have experienced during a day. Video games can make an opportunity for people to focus on something pleasant and entertaining on account of the fact that the games distract their minds from negative thoughts. In brief, although some proponents persistently emphasize on the plus points of playing games, I can conclude that the demerits are more detrimental. To be able to curb the destructive impacts, people should set a time schedule, so they can control the time they allot to such games.