Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether playing computer games is a boon or has an adverse effect on youngsters. This essay will discuss both merits and drawbacks on the same and will show my perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, some people believe that computerized games have benefited children in many ways. The main merit is that it has improved the learning skills of many children, moreover, there has been a drastic change in their decision-making skills. For instance, a child playing a game like a road racer has to make a quick decision of what the next turn or move will be to win the game. Hence, this ability to think quickly and react to the situation makes them a quick decision-maker. Another positive aspect of the digital games is, that a youngster playing in one city can connect online with many other children around the world. On the flip side, it has major negative impacts as well. Firstly, a child's behaviour tends to get more and more aggressive because of playing video games that have action or violence in it. For example, games like ninja and street fighters can impact the thinking of a child, they start to believe that, they can also fight and win like in games. Thus, these games can be harmful to the youngster playing it, along with others with whom they are with. Secondly, teens who play electronic games throughout the day end up having less physical activity, which in turn leads to health problems like obesity due to no exercise, eye problems at a young age. In conclusion, individuals believe that computerized games have benefits, with an equal number of demerits. In my opinion, it has dreadful effects on youngsters, as it compromises their mental and physical health. Therefore, electronic games should be avoided for the benefit of children.