Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games and give your own opinion.

In the recent decade, with an astronomical development in the technology, we can find many alterations in the way the children spend their free time. To be specific, most of their hours are spent on video games rather than the outdoor games. Let us first cover up the positive and negative aspects of it before coming to a conclusion. On one hand, research suggests that playing a lot of video games can greatly influence a child's problem solving skills and quicker response to any crisis. Their deeper involvement allows them to test their ability in facing different situations. Depending upon the category which a child prefers to play, its psychological capability varies. In some cases, it assists the children in understanding the technology a step deeper. For example, a child who plays quite often can repair his remotes if any problem occurs. This doesn't require any prior knowledge or expertise in the field. Conversely, too much involvement can result in the addiction, which reduces their physical activities and turn them into couch potatoes. Also, people are losing the importance of physical interaction due to excessive attachment to the virtual world. Because of their too much involvement in the computer games, they loose some of the other productive hobbies such as reading books, drawing, dancing, etc. Also, the over exposure to fluctuating lights from the monitor can create damage to their vision at early stages apart from other health issues such as nausea and muscle stiffness. In summarizing both the views, I feel that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages. So it is not much good to be involved in the video games at the risk of inducing obesity in juveniles is very high. It is better to have a control of time so that they can indulge themselves in other productive hobbies also.