Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of computer games and give your opinion.

Some would argue that online games are not good for kids, while others would say that it can be advantageous. While online games can improve language skills for children, I believe that it can lead to an unhealthy lifestyle. On the one hand, Computer games can teach a young one a second language from a very early age. In other words, when a child plays games with other individuals from a different country, they can learn a second language in an authentic context. This learning would be much more enjoyable compared with educational institutes as children learn faster when they enjoy it. As a result, they automatically develop a skill unknowingly which might be used as an extra skill later in life. For example, my brother developed his English language skills by playing Counter-Strike online and for that, he becomes successful at his workplace as he effectively communicated with foreign buyers. On the other hand, Internet games can force a kid to lead an unhealthy life. The addictiveness of this kind of game is so strong that some kids continue playing them for an extended period without even participating in any other activity. As a result, they lose interest to do any physical activity which leads them to gain weight. Eventually, they gain fat and develop different weight-related diseases such as breathing problems and others. For instance, according to WHO, 90 percent of urban children are suffering from obesity as they are not interested in outdoor games, which implies the dangerous side of video games. In conclusion, while games can prepare a kid for a future carrier with an extra skillset, I consider that it can ruin their health and cause them major harm.