Some people think that children who spend alot of time reading children s story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities

It is deemed by many people that children waste a large part of their time by reading story- books whereas this time could be utilised by doing other activities. I completely agree with this point of view as sports and other curriculum activities are more beneficial for pupils. To begin with, it will be an absurd thought if a children expend most of his leisure time in reading story magazines while sitting at one place. The main reason is that children would become socially inactive and lethargic that would hinder the overall growth of a child. Therefore, it is better to indulge the pupils into sports which would make a child socially active as well as beneficial for physical development. For instance, hockey and cricket need to be played in groups in playground. These games will give them team spirit and a chance to make friendship that is not possible while reading story' s book. In addition, the same time can also be utilised by participating in the curricular activities such as, Dance, Singing, Painting and Sketching that would give them a chance to compete with real world, unlike stories where a child deals with the imaginary world. On the other hand, although imaginary powers would be enhanced, if a child reads story books but these skills could also be acquired through Painting and Sketching as well. To conclude, I reckon that children ought to be encouraged to participate in the sports and curricular activities which is beneficial for children' s intellectual and physical development rather than reading fairy tale' s books which could make a young one lethargic and antisocial.