Some people think that children should be given lessons on how to manage money in the school.

In our present world, matters relating to money are highly sensitive. It is therefore thought by some that children ought to be thought lessons on financial management in schools. In my opinion, I agree that money management lectures are to be taught in schools as it will greatly benefit the individual and society. To begin, one of the beneficial reasons of teaching children money conservation skills is that it makes them value money. Money does not grow on trees and these teachings will help them know that money is not easy to come by. For instance, when young ones are taught that they could go into financial crisis when they spend recklessly, they become more conscious of what they buy. This helps them to have a financial plan. Again, giving lessons to youngsters about managing finances teaches them how to save. In other words, they are able to buy things for themselves from their savings. This helps them avoid buying on impulse and enables them to save up for more relevant things without having to ask their parents for extra cash. Finally, children learn to become responsible adults in terms of finances when coached on how to manage cash in schools. Researches have shown that children are born as tabula rasa. That is, their minds are like clean slates. So, they tend to abide by whatever they learn at the early stage of life and this stays with them throughout their entire life. Therefore, finance management skills, when taught early in life, helps the child develop financial integrity. With this, they cultivate the spirit of accountability, which helps them become responsible citizens in the society. In conclusion, children grow to value money and become responsible citizens when given teachings on money management skills in school.