In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development.

A majority of local shops are being closed in recent years due to the shift over by citizens to visit shopping malls and centres for their daily goods and shopping. This trend is still continuing, and I treat this as a positive phenomenon in society, as the quality of goods can be assured with branded and renowned shopping malls. First and foremostly, day to day lives of citizens are being jeopardized due to detrimental quality of products in the market. The major source of these goods is from local community shops established in every corner of streets. The profits generated from local shops have become a critical source of income for many local business owners. Decreasing the quality of goods is the only way to get them the required profits. For example, local shopkeepers are bringing the second hand material and goods from retail markets to sell at standard prices to the households. On the other hand, due to consideration of quality as an important factor, citizens are shifting over to big shopping malls to buy their goods. For instance, large shopping malls established in populated areas are taking responsibility for the quality of products and ready to replace them with new ones if found damaged. Moreover, people can plan their consumables at a time and can spend money on this with a proper budget plan, so that they will be able to track their expenses for better financial management. To conclude, Even though, the bread and butter of the local shop owners are taken off by avoiding visits, encouraging people to visit shopping malls and branded showrooms make lives more hygiene and healthier. Alternatively, the government can plan and encourage for alternative business options to the local community shop owners for saving the health of citizens.