In the modern world, the image (photograph or film) is becoming a more powerful way of communicating than the written word.

In modern society, with the advent of advanced telecommunication and photographic technologies, visual expression in media such as television, photography and films is increasingly becoming popular as powerful means of expression when compared to the simple mundane printed medium. The increasing preference and use of visual resources over written communication is an undeniable fact and the growing utilisation of video based learning in modern schools over text book based knowledge transfer is the best possible example. In the present evidence-seeking world, visual communication is a powerful tool as it provides recognisable facts. Meticulously crafted images, like political cartoons and television documentaries readily deliver the concerned messages to the onlookers and are mostly beneficial in conveying thoughts to the busy and uneducated sections of the society. The television is also being bombarded with numerous catchy advertisements, by which manufacturers try to communicate with the masses regarding their products. On the other hand, the appeal of the printed media as means of mass communication, is declining as the younger generation considers it to be relatively old fashioned and boring. Moreover, in the fast paced modern city life, less number of people can afford to dedicate time for reading the daily morning newsprints, instead, most of the city dwellers follow daily-televised news. Despite this decreased appeal for mass communication, the value of the written form still stands tall in the field of interpersonal and formal communication. Written words, as a form of official documentation, can never be superseded by any other means. Thus, visual communication is definitely a popular, powerful and better tool for mass communication, but written form of expression still has equal importance for official, formal and interpersonal purposes.