Some people think that art is essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.

There is an opinion that studying art in schools is one of the fundamentals, meanwhile there are those who disagree and consider that teaching art is loss of time. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion. On the one side of the argument are those who believe that a school’s curriculum should include the art as one of the compulsory disciplines. This is because one of the crucial milestones in a child’s development is evolving creativity and a non-standard approach to solving problems. While learning the art is a great tool stimulating a creation process. For instance, the youngsters drawing on a daily basis have well-developed imagination and ability to express emotions through creation. On the other side, there are people, who argue that the subject of art is necessary at school; by contrast, these individuals assume that studying it is meaningless activity. Nowadays, there are more important subjects to focus on at school, especially, exact sciences such as biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics. The main reason of it is that the humanity required much more high-teach engineers, qualified doctors and other STEM specialities. Thus, concentrating on the deepest teaching of a hard science will probably encourage the younger generation to choose this path for their careers. However, in my opinion, despite the fact that STEM specialists in a high demand in modern society, I believe that the art is one of the core disciplines. Owing to the fact that the art creation boost a person’s imagination and it is understood that engineers should be able to look at ordinary things from a different angle. In conclusion, both sides have their merits. On balance, however, I consider that it is necessary for an educational program to include art as one of the essentials.