Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

While the reduction of crimes was always one of the government's concerns, many offenders continue to commit crime after finish their imprisonment period, and this same issue cause to bolster these concerns. This essay will discuss the two main contributors that cause ex-offenders to perpetrate crime again when they release from prison, including unemployment and lack of knowledge and skill. This essay will also put forward some solutions to tackle this issue. There are two significant factors to commit criminals re-offend after serving a prison sentence, namely the lake of skill and unemployment. Most of the criminals suffer from lack of education since they are from the weak strata of society. Indeed, they commit the offence because there are no job opportunities for them. In consequence, when people in prisons do not have access to vocational training or education, they would not be able to find a job after they finish their sentence period, not to mention the fact that having a criminal record on the resume makes it difficult for ex-offenders to find a job. Therefore, those who are jobless and poor after coming out of prisons may have no choice but to commit crimes again. Hence, what can help to ex-offenders to change their lifestyle is to provide a training and rehabilitation plan while they are spending their prison sentence and give loan to them to begin a job when they release. These programs can able to supply the required professions to obtain a considerable job after serving their sentence. For instance, vocational training like Welding, carpentry, crafting, hair styling, etc. should be mandatory in prisons so that prisoners can learn personal skills or specific job skills. Furthermore, the government can loan them with a low-interest rate that provides this opportunity for them to launch their own business. For examples, a result of a study indicates that about 75% prisoners who are financially supported by the government after finish their imprisonment and learned skill during imprisonment would be able to change their life by starting a job and leave their wrongdoings. Therefore, to reduce the offence in the society a rehabilitation program and gain a loan to prisoners to change their ways can be effective. In conclusion, the reduction of crime was always a concerning issue among society. This essay discussed how government can mitigate the offence that will be committed by ex-convicts. This essay suggested that the solutions to these problems are twofold: education program for them in prison and provide a low-interest loan to improve their life after finish their jail time.