Some people think that art is an essential subject at school, while some think that it is a waste of time.

The importance of teaching art at school is debatable. There are some people that assign art a place in the school curriculum, while others do not. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of art as an essential subject in schools, and tell you why I think that art should be taught in schools. Art provides a medium for students to express their thoughts creatively and helps them break down complex ideas into smaller pieces that are easily digestible. For example, a pictorial depiction of how electrons interact in an atom can go a long way in cementing this concept in a young mind. Schools that provide a flexible environment that support each child's individual learning process will see an improvement in test scores and overall interest. This is one of the merits of incorporating art in schools. On the other hand, art can be a tool that distracts students from core subject matter that requires understanding a concept in depth. It can be argued that time allocated to art can be used more efficiently in teaching young students real world ideas that will help them progress in their fields of choice. Institutes with an academic oriented teaching plan have shown better results in competitive exams that play a crucial role in a student's future. The above argument can give you pause while considering inculcating art in schools. In my personal opinion, I believe that art plays a key role in ensuring a student's all round development, engaging all their senses. All forms of art, such as music and dance, teach students life lessons like team work, co-ordination and focus. This is why I support the notion of including art in schools. In conclusion, compelling arguments can be made for both sides of this issue, and hence, it becomes imperative to vet each school and its students thoroughly before implementing such measures. I believe it is not a mere coincidence that the great geniuses of the past were also artists, and this must be incorporated in schools.