Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

It is often argued that undergraduates should be forced to take only courses that will be of use in the future, such as science-related subjects, while others think that they should be free to choose whatever they are most interested in. Although science degrees offer more opportunities to procure a good job, this essay will show that forcing someone to do what they are not interested in will often result in failure. On the one hand, students who finish university having studied an area of science are far more likely to find employment. The simple reason for this is that industries related to technology are always growing and there is an ever-increasing demand for professionals in this field. For example, Indonesia attracts a lot of foreign companies because of the competence of their science graduates. Yet this essay argues that a person who has found employment easily isn’t guaranteed success in their careers. On the other hand, when students are forced to study certain subjects, a large number of them will fail their exams. This is because it is very difficult for a person to dedicate themselves to learning a topic they dislike because they will have no motivation and find it more difficult to grasp the concepts. For example, most parents in Vietnam force their children to study business-related subjects at university, but it has resulted in a failure rate of nearly one third. Therefore this essay believes that people will be more likely to succeed if they follow their interests. In conclusion, science-based subjects should not be made compulsory at third-level education because a guarantee of work doesn’t help people to succeed and students will find them too difficult and fail their exams.