Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

In today's era of modernisation, some advocates promote that teenagers should be given an opportunity to do unpaid work in their spare time for the benefit of the local community and society. I strongly agree with this proposition and will highlight the numerous advantages of encouraging teenagers to take up social service I would like to highlight 3 advantages of engaging teenagers in social work. Firstly, it can be considered a better utilisation of their time. A study shows that boredom is a major cause behind a large number of teens resorting to crime and drugs. Therefore, keeping them occupied in social activities like cleaning of public areas or creating awareness about important social issues should be definitely preferred to wasting time on unproductive ways to tackle boredom. Secondly, data suggest that community service plays a valuable role in the character development of teenagers. For example, if a teen takes part in cleaning the road of his/her locality, he/she would realise the importance of cleanliness and hygiene. As a consequence, this would create a society that consists of morally sound adolescents. Thirdly, it can help the teenagers learn how to function in a working environment. Henceforth, students would have a prior experience of working before actually joining their jobs and therefore, are ready for the future. This vision can thus be achieved by 2 methods. As an initial step, students should be given various incentives, for example, credits for their university applications if they have performed community service. Secondly, teachers and parents should create awareness about the valuable experiences to be gained by these teenagers when they take part in such activities. To conclude, there are practically no disadvantages of promoting teenagers to engage in unpaid social work for their own communities. I hope these ideas are implemented by the government in the near future for the betterment of our society.