Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that teenagers should be engaged in unpaid jobs in a community. I completely disagree with this idea. Below are some reasons to support my view. The main duties of young people would be receiving education. They should study hard to raise their chance of attending universities of finding a job later. Then it seems that they need to take rest in their idle time when preparing to start a new season. It is very likely to see that they won’t welcome involving in free-paid jobs. Teenagers in fact require to enjoy times when are being young. If they were obliged to take part in unpaid jobs, they would feel losing their youth time. And this would cause some psychological problems in their future life. The second reason that why this idea is not practical is that this view is against of values of a free society. In such a society people regardless of age are free to take part in certain jobs especially when there is no money to pay. Even if those people are obliged to carry out those tasks, because of lack of interesting they will not complete their duties properly. This may bring teenagers into conflict with people working with them. To sum up, I believe that due to the fact that human beings have a deep hatred of compulsory tasks this idea is not practical to establish in a community. Young people should be free to choose what type of activities they tend to do.