people today have healthier lifestyles than people from 100 years ago.

It is thought by some individuals that leisure time should be spent freely, while others are of the opinion that, activities such as games and reading can enhance the mind during free hours. Though, it is essential to occupy the mind, rest is of utmost importance, as this is associated with good health. In my opinion, they mind should be occupied with productive activities as this results in greater efficiency. The ability to engage the mind in activities such as word puzzles and reading of journals during a free period is essential. As this results in benefits of mental clarity, improved reasoning, focus and apt decision making. The mind becomes increasingly productive. For instance, a friend of mine, who started playing the game of chess in his prime, improved over time, won the chess medal and became more efficient in other spheres of life. Hence, engaging the mind in periods when one is less active brings about increased efficiency and effectiveness. On the other hand, mind rest during free periods is golden, as this is associated with mental and physical health. It is documented by world Health Organisation that 90 to 95% of workers who take periodic break are mentally sound. As this free occasions are very restful and prepares them for the tasks ahead. For example, my dad occasionally travels out the UK, a break he takes to bare his mind off work, academics and games, returns back mentally relaxed and healthier. Thus, the mind can be left bare occasionally. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that engaging the mind in activities at leisure break is of utmost importance as it increases the output of the mind. Nevertheless, mind rest should be done sparingly.