Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

There is a belief that volunteer activities should be mandatory for all teenagers because it is beneficial for them as well as local communities. In my opinion, I agree that young people contributing to society is a great idea but this should not be compulsory. On the one hand, doing volunteer work brings many advantages for teenagers and society. From the teenagers’ side, unpaid work helps them grow both physically and mentally. For example, when teenagers take part in outdoor activities such as planting trees or cleaning public spaces, they not only improve their health, but also learn important skills like how to cooperate with others when performing duties, or how to handle conflicts in the team, etc. For local communities, if there are more young people dedicate their time to help, there would be more clean and beautiful spaces for the public, and a stronger connection among residents. This would help society become a great place to live. On the other hand, I do not think that teenagers should be obliged to volunteer. In my opinion, volunteering itself is a meaningful activity, and the volunteers would benefit a lot from it when they do it from their heart. However, if young people are forced to spend their time on unpaid work, it may create resentment and the feeling of unfairness among them. Furthermore, under the influence of this mood, I doubt that the results of volunteering do any good to society. In fact, the volunteers may not pay attention to what they are doing and do not care whether the results of their work are qualified or not. In conclusion, teenagers may choose to work for free and help others, but in my opinion we should not make this compulsory.