A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

Nowadays, a person who has the materialistic possessions and a high profile background are considered more important than how his values or personality traits are. I moderately agree with this viewpoint, as I believe a person's profile can make him powerful, but his inner values can only earn him respect. An individual's characteristics such as honour, kindness and trust forms the basis of long term relationships; not only at present, but also maintains respect after his death. For example, The Mother Teresa; she is well known not for her material wealth, but for her generosity and the value of human life. The fame and status may seem worthwhile at the moment until one possesses money and or a post. When that is gone, no one will ever remember him. To exemplify, there are many such politicians who once were the face of their region or nation, however nobody remembers them at present. Thus, old fashioned values are essential to be alive in people's heart for a long time. On the other hand, it is also true to say that people are attracted towards power and social status. No matter how well cultured one is, he can merely achieve success in the present world, unless he has some connection with high profile people. That is why, these persons with economic blessings and social status are considered as the very important personalities. They use money and power to achieve everything they desire, even get away with serious crimes. For instance, Nirmala rape case in Nepal, where the case could not move forwards, just because the accused was the son of some powerful politician. Undoubtedly, it is sad, even though it is a reality; a person's worth nowadays is judged according to his social position and property. In conclusion, I moderately believe that these days someone is considered important if he has huge possession and position; meanwhile, I think to earn respect, we still need a good personality.