Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

These days, many old people are not as happy and healthy as before because they could do more daily physical activities and spend more time with family and friends in the past. There are several causes for this problem and some measures can be taken. There are several reasons for this issue. The main reason is that mobile phone takes people away from the real world. Although it is easier for people to entertain and contact others, the chances of face-to-face communication appear to grow less and less. In the past, older people would make an routinely to go to park for exercise such as jogging or practising Tai Chi in the morning. But now, once older people get up, the mobile phone is easily at hand. It is obvious that they have found a new way to kill time, hence mobile phones are taking the place of real friends. Besides, with the development of communication tools, it is unnecessary for older people to take a long trip to meet family or friends. They can send messages and make a video call by phone to each other. As a result, people spend much of the day on their phones rather than going out to real people. So older people feel lonelier and face more health problems, because of lack of activity. However, there are various measures that can be taken to address this trend which need the co-operation of the whole society. The community can set-up exercise clubs for elderly, especially and encourage them to make friends in the real world. And exercise plans which are made by special tutors for older people can increase their motivation. In addition, when their family or friends visit them, they are supposed to put down their phones and talk with others sincerely. In conclusion, if older people can pay more attention to the real world and take part in activities offline, they will get more happiness and become healthier.