These seem to be an increasing trend towards assessing student through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantage of exams as a form of assessment?

There is a tendency for teachers to assess students by method for doing examinations instead of continual assessment. This essay will suggest that measuring students' ability is the biggest advantage of this and increased stress and pressure on students is the primary disadvantage. On the one hand, assessing students through exams bring people a few benefits. Firstly, assessing students by method for examination help teachers to assess exactly level ability of students. For instance, when students take an exam, and they are undertaken in the presence of supervisors thus, students could not cheat in the time doing exams. Moreover, in Vietnam, if students want to go abroad in developing countries, such as Canada, America, they have to pass some English certificate with good score. The second, examinations will promote competition among students. The score of the exams plays a vital role in assessing students. It helps students to work harder to improve their knowledge and natural skill. On the other hand, this trend has several drawbacks. Examinations bring students stress and pressure. When a student has to be faced with important exams, he will feel stress and pressure. To illustrate, a great deal of excellent student has achieved a low score because they are under pressure from their parents and teachers. The disadvantage of continuous assessment that is examinations are sometimes incorrect because students often tend to use the internet, therefore; it increases the risk of plagiarism. For example, when students plagiarize means that they are taking someone else's idea, and this lead until they may be being expulsion from going out school for this reason. In conclusion, assessing students through exams bring people pros and cons in assessing students' ability, and pressure, which students have to face when they carry out exams.