Some people think that activities of free-time should be planned while others disagree.

Some individuals opine that animals are sentient; therefore, they should not be caged in the wildlife sanctuary, as opposed to that others claim that it is better to have zoos for as it provides numerous benefits. This essay will elucidate both aspects before putting my opinion. On the one hand, there are significant reasons to advocate why animals should be kept in zoos. Firstly, it is irrefutably true that a diverse range of wildlife species is on the verge of extinction, such as White Rhino, Bengali Tiger, African Elephant. Hence a zoo plays a crucial role in preserving such animals. Besides, evidently, a plethora of medicines has been invented from the animal researches. Since animals have robust immunity power, myriads of investigations have been made on them to find a cure for many diseases and virus. To illustrate, in 1892, while the masses were dying of the MARC virus without a proper vaccination, a group of scientists found a solution from Horse and saved millions of lives. Thus, zoos have considerable upsides in society. On the flip side, zoos are not an ideal environment for wild animals as they lose their natural habits and behaviours. Unquestionably, animals cannot obtain their natural instinct like hunting in an artificial environment as it has many drawbacks such as limited space and regular food. Furthermore, animals are forced to carry out a task in many places. Since they can only use their 5th sense, they cannot learn quickly like humans; therefore, they are being trained in a way which physically and mentally hurts. To exemplify, in zoos, for an entertainment show, numerous Elephants and Chimpanzees are treated in an inadmissible manner. In conclusion, although zoos are advantageous to both animals and human life, it is unethical to exploit them for self-centred purposes. Thus, I firmly believe that wild species should not be held in zoos; animals should enjoy their natural habitats and not be kept as captives.