Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. with this opinion?

Governments are facing an ethical dilemma over-allocating resources to protecting wild animals or human population. Some people truly support the latter argument; however, I do believe that money should be spent intelligently to benefit both animal and human population. The protection of animals should be high on the agenda of every authority. Firstly, preserving wildlife helps balance the ecosystem which is severely damaged by human activities. The number of endangered animals is increasing sharply in recent decades. Once natural habitats are destroyed, over lives are also affected; therefore, it is worth protecting wild animals. For example, if the practice of whaling is not banned, ecosystems of our oceans will be altered forever and it will result in difficulties of thousands of livings who now depend on oceans. Secondly, saving animals also means preserving habitats. Natural rainforests and wetlands are homes of thousand animals. Protecting their lives plays an important role in maintaining those natural resources, which helps reduces disaster like erosion, flooding, drought and the like. Moreover, natural habitats are also the greatest resource for medical and biological research. Besides, preserving wildlife also benefits human beings since it creates great opportunities for ecotourism. In fact, national parks or wildlife safaris provide numerous job vacancies. The Nam Cat Tien National Park in Vietnam has helped cut the unemployment rate in underdeveloped areas since it creates job opportunities for hundreds of workers. Additionally, governments have great profits from ecotourism as well, which contributes largely to national economic growth. From all the above-mentioned, although wildlife preservation is a drain on a nation’s budget, it is our imperative nowadays. It is not also a country’s responsibility but also each individual’s.